no surprise

if at some point in the future
you visit as I’m laid to rest
please don’t act surprised
when you seen I was a mess

i swallowed the loneliness
I choked on most my tears
you would never know I struggled
with happiness for many years

but eventually it got harder
to pretend I was okay
my tears flowed so freely
no smile would ever stay.

i screamed but no one heard me
I cried but no one cared
i was drowning every moment
when I finally asked for help, there was nobody there.

so when you come to discuss my struggles
and say your final goodbyes
don’t dare say this is such a shock
i tried to live not die

next time you overlook a cry for help
please remember this one thing
it only takes a minute
and your presence is all you bring.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.